18 Springdale Street, St. John’s, NL  A1E 2R1

Tel: (709) 739-0290               Fax: (709) 739-0288         Twitter: @SalArmyNL   

Facebook: The Salvation Army Ches Penney Centre of Hope  

Website: under construction

Mission Statement:  The Salvation Army Ches Penney Centre of Hope exists to promote the opportunity for personal growth and empowerment by responding to the physical, emotional and spiritual needs of the individual. 

Vision Statement: Through the love of Jesus Christ, The Salvation Army Ches Penney Centre of Hope will be a beacon of light that provides care, guidance and hope to all in our community while valuing dignity, diversity and the uniqueness of each individual. 

Target Population: Marginalized population (adults/families)

Highlight of Programs / Services Offered: 

  • Family Services offers a range of Food Security programs, as well as our Christmas toy/hamper distribution and school programs. For more information, please contact Family Services Coordinator, Sara Kean at (709)237-0095 or sarah.kean@salvationarmy.ca
  • Community Meals: Tuesday: 11:30am – 12:30pm, Wednesday: 11:30am – 12:30pm, Thursday: 11:30am – 12:30pm
  • Food Bank: Tuesday: 12:30pm – 3:00pm, Wednesday: 9:00am – 11:30am & 12:30pm – 3:00pm, Thursday: 12:30pm – 3:00pm
  • Our Pathway of Hope Program offers case management and spiritual care to individuals and their families who may be experiencing poverty cycles. Pathway of Hope can offer service connections to job training, health services, childcare, education, housing and legal services. For more information please contact the Family Services Intake Worker & Pathway of Hope Case Worker, Brian Abrahamse at (709)237-0270 or brian.abrahamse@salvationarmy.ca

  •  

    Our Social Worker/Community Navigator assists individuals with obtaining identification cards, applying for income support, completing housing applications and supporting individuals with navigating the housing and healthcare system, along with completing referrals to additional programs and services. Appointment and drop in services available. Please contact Denise Miller, BA, RSW., Social Worker/Community Navigator at (709)726-5026 or denise.miller@salvationarmy.ca
  • Spiritual Care offers compassionate support through individual spiritual counselling sessions and prayer to promote personal healing, growth and connection. We provide spiritual resources and referrals to local faith communities and community services. Additionally, corrections Chaplaincy services for Her Majesty’s Penitentiary and court are available. Contacts:  Captain Beverly Howell-Brushett, Director, Spiritual Care (709) 237-0227 or beverly.howell-brushett@salvationarmy.ca   and Nic Dobson, Chaplain, Correctional & Justice Services at (709)746-4163 or  nic.dobson@salvationarmy.ca and Major Ross Grandy Officer, Correctional & Justice Services (709) 237-0059 or ross.grandy@salvationarmy.ca

  • Addictions Counseling – In-house Addictions Counselor available at the Centre. For more information or to book an appointment, please call Lindsay Kennedy, B.Ed, M.Ed (Counselling/Psychology), Addictions Counselor, at (709)237-0255 or lindsay.kennedy@salvationarmy.ca
  • Social and recreation programs are offered throughout the week and are subject to change. Please contact Andrew Parrell, Social and Recreation Coordinator for details at (709)237-0096 or  andrew.parrell@salvationarmy.ca

Collaborative Services:

  • Employment Training Programs are delivered by the College of the North Atlantic and take place in the Fry Learning Centre at the Centre of Hope. These programs are available to individuals who are in receipt of income support and would like to enter or re-enter the work force. For details contact the Employment Programs Coordinator at (709)237-0075. Jane Coombs, BA., jane.coombs@salvationarmy.ca
  • The NL Chiropractoric Association provides Chiropractic services to clients of the Centre of Hope on Tuesday and Thursday mornings. For further information, please contact our Receptionist at (709)739-0290 or mona.simms@salvationarmy.ca.

The new Salvation Army Ches Penney Centre of Hope is open and ready to meet the needs of our community, please see the updated program and service brochure below.

Brochure

Contact Information

Captain Tony Brushett, Executive Director:  tony.brushett@salvationarmy.ca 

Captain Beverly Howell-Brushett, Director, Spiritual Care beverly.howell-brushett@salvationarmy.ca

Mona Simms, Receptionist, mona.simms@salvationarmy.ca

Danielle Chafe, Administrative Coordinator danielle.chafe@salvationarmy.ca

Dion Osmond, MBA, Director of Operations dion.osmond@salvationarmy.ca

Major Rhonda Smith, Volunteer Coordinator rhonda.smith@salvationarmy.ca

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.